South Africa celebrated Africa day by welcoming their newly elected President Cyril Ramaphosa. The African National Congress won the 2019 national elections which led to them being the ruling party of the country. Cyril Ramaphosa is South Africa’s sixth democratically elected President. The President’s inauguration took place on the 25th of May in the country’s capital city, Pretoria, at Loftus Stadium. Thousands of citizens sang struggle songs as they waited patiently for their President to arrive and address them.

Normally the inauguration is held at the Union building but this year the President decided to run things with a twist. Free transport was provided for citizens around the capital city as people arrived in numbers filled with jubilation. International dignitaries included the likes of Rwandan President Paul Kagame, Uganda president Yoweri Museveni and Tanzanian President John Magufuli to name a few. “As South Africans we are honoured and deeply humbled by the presence of prestigious leaders from across the continent” said Ramaphosa in his inaugural address.

The President delivered his address by 12 noon; he thanked fellow South African for voting for him and entrusting him in running the country. “It is you, the people of South Africa who have spoken. With your votes you have placed your confidence and trust in men and women who now sit in our sixth democratic Parliament” the President said. South African VIPs who attended included the likes of former presidents Thabo Mbeki and Kgalema Motlanthe, MECs, Premiers, members of Parliament and Mayors.

The president was welcomed with warmth and citizens showed their love and support for him. What greater way to celebrate Africa day than to Crown the President of the country, so the President further added that “We are profoundly grateful to you for choosing to celebrate Africa Day amongst us, giving further poignancy to South Africa’s transformation from a pariah state to a full and valued member of the family of African nations”.

Cyril Ramaphosa’s reign started in 2018 when former president Jacob Zuma was voted out by the National Assembly for motion of no confidence. The president will be the country’s President for five years until the next democratic election. It is stated in the South African constitution of 1996 that a President cannot serve more than two terms, so we will see if the President makes enough impression to serve for the second term.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *