FRESHMAN AWARDS is a non-government organization founded with the objectives to showcase and celebrate upcoming talent from Pretoria. The organization hosts award ceremonies in a selected location to recognise teenagers that have had an impact on fellow inhabitants and neighbouring communities for that specific year. The awards promote innovation and leadership assisting build a productive and goal driven generation.

On the 15 December 2017 teenagers from Pretoria gathered at Soshanguve Block H Community Hall to honour and celebrate those who proved and portrayed leadership quality for the year. The event featured various talented individuals including artists, socialites and creatives at large, just to name a few. Organised by teenagers for teenagers the event was decorated vigorously with a sense of panache from inception, throughout to the conclusion of the event.

As a city tainted by the rife abuse and uses of drugs and alcohol this is one event that seeks to divert and advocate for a positive lifestyle amongst youth and teenagers of Soshanguve. The ceremony reflects on the conceptualisation of applauded endeavours. The founders and organizers of the event believe that the future belongs to those who prepare and act on it. The event is a brilliant idea which should be protected and cherished by both young and old as an integral part of a healthy conducive society.

Winners of the awards included Tween Mozy (Best Rapper), Diverse Clothing (Best Clothing Brand), Black Art Movement (Best Movement), Stoner is Bae (Best Producer), Da Real Crack (Freshmen Of The Year), Khutso Skinny & Atlegang  Carsea (Couple Of The Year), Dimpas Prxb (Best Dee-Jay), Mpho Indigo Child (Best Male Dressed), Beauty BossBabe (Best Female Dressed), Reneilwe Neilwe (Pretty Girl Of The Year), Karabo Mnisi (Socialite Of The Year), TJ Mokhuane (Most Influential), Botshelow X Tshelow (Best Newcomer), Jesty StarBoy (Pretty Boy Of The Year), Kamogelo N (Best Male/Female), Russianoh (Artist Of The Year).

Although not everyone could walk away as the ultimate winner of their categories but the acknowledgement and recognition was inspiration enough for them to remain in the right course as they were. The organizers put together a voting site where winners would be selected by their peers and followers. The selection process was made transparent as nominees were selected by fans and winners through majority votes. As expected there were challenges which included sound echo and unclear voices. The organizers recognised challenges as a building block and promised an even greater event 2018.

It is only fair that we congratulate the winners of this great initiative and wish the organizers best of luck moving forward. From your most reliable source of local content it’s a wrap and until next time #Ladi_JaJa?



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: