This is one building rich in history and every South African and international tourist should visit at least once in their lives. Built in 1886 by a prospering businessman from Pretoria George Jesse Heys and named after the renowned Melrose Abbey in Scotland this building played a significant role in shaping the history of South Africa and its inhabitants.
The Melrose House was requisitioned as the headquarters of the British forces by Lord Roberts after the invasion of Pretoria in June 1900. For more than 18 months the British forces received their strategy for what to do in the field from the Melrose House. This building is a clear example of the transition from the Victorian to Edwardian architectural styles and interiors.
Further more this exquisite building is furnished in interior tinted glass windows, paintings by English artists, carpets in rich colours, ornate ceilings and fire places valuable ornaments which mostly were once property of the Heys family. This building also represent the peace treaty of Vereeniging which brought an end to the Anglo-Boer war(1899-1902) which both parties or oppositions agreed to and signed here.
The Melrose House also offers guided tours by appointment whereby visitors can explore numerous sections of the venue like a clay tennis court, reference libraries, and a beautiful tea garden. They also offer exhibitions, antique, fairs, talks, workshops for children and numerous adults’ shows on a regular basis.
Visitors on the building will also come upon various stables housed in the stable complex where light meals, cakes, varying teas, coffee and cold drinks are served. The Melrose House is situated in 275 Jacob Mar Street Pretoria right across Burger’s park. Free parking is available at 280 Schelding Street to the south of Melrose House.
The Building is closed on Mondays and Public holidays.
Tuesday-Sunday -10h00 to 17h00
Guided tours bookings R50 per hour (1:20 persons).
Learners – R5
Edited By: M.D.B